Web Service: Codepen

Codepen is one of my favorite webservices(Is this a webservice? I’m counting it as one).

Pros:
Accessible from anywhere. I can use my Chromebook to work on something and then go view it on a bigger screen in my laptop.

Easy to get started. I can experiment with things like Sass and Less without having to install anything on my computer.

Codepen has an interesting community. The community is fairly active and they have ‘picked pens’ which lets me see really awesome things.

Forking is really amazing. Part of learning to code is experimenting with working code to see what changes. Codepen allows you to fork someone’s else code and play with it.

Cons:
You can’t really go deep.Most of the stuff Codepen is for front end development.

It’s hard to get the base file. Well, not hard, but it isn’t easy to get the actual html/css/javascript document

Codepen helps my workflow by letting me experiment and test things out before writing a giant html file.It also has me type less code because it preloads most of that.

Leave a comment